Guilden Morden Church of England (VC) Primary Academy

Together we work to succeed and flourish

EYFS and National Curriculum

EYFS and National Curriculum

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The EYFS covers the Preschool and the Reception and has seven areas of learning, three prime areas and four specific areas.


  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development


  •  Literacy
  •  Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

For further information click on: Early Years Foundation Stage Framework


National Curriculum

The primary National Curriculum consists if Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2 and covers the following subjects: 

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science
  • Design and Technology
  • History
  • Geography
  • Art 
  • Music
  • Physical Education (PE), including swimming
  • Computing
  • Modern foreign languages (at key stage 2)

Primary schools must also provide:

  • Religious Education (RE)
  • Personal, Social and Health Education (PSHE)
  • Relationships and Health Education (RSE) 

For further information click on: National Curriculum